Voluntary simplicity – the anchor and the albatross

Never say that a Priestess of Aphrodite isn’t busy, because I’ve been flat out!

My house is currently undergoing renovations, so naturally I thought it would be a great idea to have a big clear out of old stuff at the same time. It’s odd how renovations get you in the mood to clear out the clutter, isn’t it? It’s even odder how much clutter tends to build up over time – especially when you have kids.

But I’ve been really enjoying the sense of release that comes with selling stuff I just don’t use any more. A lot of old books are going, and a lot of old bone china, that for some reason I thought I just had to have when I was younger. Now I’m older, I look at it a bit the same way you might look at an albatross around your neck – it’s weighing me down, sapping my energy, and I just long to be free of the stuff.

So out it goes.

albatross

The older I get, the less STUFF I seem to need. And the less attraction STUFF has for me.

When I was in my twenties, I really wanted to collect belongings, gather my identity. Now I’ve come to realise that my identity comes from being who I am – not from what I might happen to possess.

These days, I’m far more interested in going places and meeting people than in owning things. I understand the lure of voluntary simplicity. I want to scale my life down, remove the clutter, and relax.

Be free.

We humans are moss-gatherers. We like our security blankets of possessions – clothing, furniture, homes, tools. Stuff. It tells the world who we are, our status, our value.

However, I can’t help thinking that I don’t give a damn what value other people place on me. I’m a successful woman. I know my own value. I don’t need others to calculate it for me – and anyone who does calculate my value based on how much junk I happen to possess is a bit weak in the mind anyway.

So here I am, clearing the junk, getting rid of the flotsam and jetsam I’ve collected in my life, and I’m not missing any of it as it goes out the door to new owners.

All I can feel is the weight lifting off my shoulders.

aphrodite4

Leave a Reply

