Ritual: Self-dedication to Aphrodite

Time: Night time, under a full moon, preferably rising. Why? Because the full moon is the moon for lovers, love and Aphrodite.

Place: An empty beach is ideal. Why? Because Aphrodite is associated with the water, she is a sea Goddess, and she rises from the foam of the waves. If you can’t access a beach, an empty garden with a bowl of saltwater will do.

Needed: A single, perfect apple. Why? Because one of Aphrodite’s most significant triumphs was winning the Golden Apple that started the Trojan War.

goldenapple

Wear: Something that makes you feel strong, beautiful and powerful. You will be barefoot for this ritual, and may wish to wear something above the knees that will not be ruined by seawater.

aphroditebyliloklilokd2

The Ritual.

Take the apple in both hands, and walk barefoot under the full moon into the sea. Accept the cold water, if it is cold. Feel the sting of the waves, if it stings you. Embrace the scent of the water. Be one with it.

Holding the apple in both hands, raise it up above your head, saying clearly:

I dedicate myself to the Goddess Aphrodite
Lady of Cytherea
Goddess of beauty and love
Powerful Goddess of women
Of sexuality and sensuality.

I honour You, Goddess
In all that I am
Everything that I am.
From this day forth,
For all of my life,
I pledge to do Your work.

Lower the apple to the waves, and dip it gently into the seafoam. Then lift it to your lips with both hands, and take a single bite.

Say:

As I declare, so shall it be!

Bury the remainder of the apple in the sand. The ritual is done.

FullMoonBeach

4 thoughts on “Ritual: Self-dedication to Aphrodite

  1. Hi D,

    I am writing a paper on Aphrodite for my goddess mythology class and have truly connected through your blog for both my paper but personally as well. I was hoping it would be ok I cited your blog within my paper and would love to use your full name so i can give proper credit to your words. Your writing is truly moving, and I have found personal inspiration through this assignment that lead me to you.

    Thank You,

    Alysha

    1. Hi – I realised how long it has been since I logged in when I saw your comment! I hope you went ahead and cited the blog anyway, because it is absolutely okay. Life has been getting in the way.

      Thanks for the positive feedback, and I wish you all the best on your journey.

      D.

Leave a Reply

