Consecrating a new Blade

I went down to the beach one evening this week to consecrate a new Blade.

It’s one that I picked up a few weeks ago, and has a very masculine feel to it. It’s actually inscribed with the name of the Egyptian God Horus, who I haven’t worked with up until this point, but the masculine energy of the piece was immediately apparent.

blade

It’s also a left-hander, which is odd, considering that the masculine side is usually on the right. But as I use my right hand (usually) for my old, favourite Blade, this works well: it means I can use the two simultaneously. This was one of the things that attracted me to the Blade.

I waited until sunset, and went down to a favourite, very secluded beach. As usual, there was nobody there, apart from a large flock of sea birds. That boded well.

The beach at sunset
The beach at sunset

All I needed for a basic consecration was a lighter, for the Element of Fire. All the other Elements (Wind, Water and Earth) were present already.

The beach that I went to is really ideal for Working. There’s a small island out to sea and, if you stand in the right spot, it marks East perfectly. So you don’t even need to think about the compass points: the landscape does it for you.

I didn’t Cast: for a Consecration you don’t need to, as the tool needs to be Sacred both in and outside of Circle.

I held the Blade up to catch the wind, and said By the Air that is Her Breath, and is the wind beneath His wings.

Then I ran a flame along the edge of the Blade, and said By the Fire of Her Bright Spirit, and the Flame of His Passion, Power and Desire.

Then I placed the Blade in the water, so that the waves lapped over it gently, and said By the Waters of Her living Womb, and the Water of His Tears.

Then I dug the blade into the soft sand, and said By the Earth that is Her Body, and upon which He stands tall and strong.

Then, In the name of the Lady and Lord, Goddess and God, I consecrate this Blade. It is done.

That’s all there was to it. I then cleaned the Blade of remaining sand, and sat down upon the dunes to watch the sun set. It was a beautiful, warm evening, and I felt still and calm as I watched the birds come in to land and join their companions.

Leave a Reply

